System Administration Guide
Chapter 1, Administering user accounts

Changing user login groups

Changing user login groups

In the Account Manager, select a user name, then select Modify from the Users menu. Use the Change Group Membership button to change the value in the ``Login Group'' field.

The login group is the default group to which the user belongs. Files and directories created by the user are owned by this group. Users can temporarily change their login group using the sg(C) command.

NOTE: If you add a user to a group that does not exist, you are given the opportunity to create it. When a user's login group is set this way, the group will not be added to the ``Member of'' column. This is normal.

To change the system default login group, select User Defaults from the Options menu.

See also: