System Administration Guide
Chapter 1, Administering user accounts

Changing the default permissions for job scheduling

Changing the default permissions for job scheduling

The system is initially configured to permit use of the job scheduling commands by root, sys, adm and uucp only, denying access to other users.

To change the system defaults, make these selections in the Cron Manager (the first is for cron and the second for at and batch):

Authorize Scheduled Default
Authorize Delayed Default

These three selections are displayed:

Execution is not permitted for any users.

Allow all users to execute the command.

Deny all users access to the command.

The current behavior is highlighted. Use the arrow keys to select the behavior desired, or enter the first letter. Remember that users can be allowed or denied on an individual basis as well. The settings for individuals take precedence over the system defaults.